Skip to main content

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Water Environment Federation (WEF) President Lynn Broaddus presented Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD) Commissioner Mariyana Spyropoulos with the Public Officials Award during the 94th Annual Water Environment Federation Technical Exhibition and Conference (WEFTEC) celebration of excellence reception and ceremony held at McCormick Place Convention Center on Oct. 19.

The Public Officials Award is presented to an elected or appointed public official that has made a documented significant contribution in the areas of clean water legislation, public policy, government service or another area of public prominence that resulted in improvements to the water environment.

Commissioner Spyropoulos was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2016. She was elected as chairman of finance in January 2013 and president of the Board of Commissioners in January 2015 and 2017. Commissioner Spyropoulos serves as chairman of the committees on Judiciary; Pension, Human Resources and Civil Service. She is also vice chairman of the Labor and Industrial Relations and the Municipalities Committees.

“I am honored to be recognized by the Water Environment Federation. My experience inspired me to a career devoted to public service and helped prepare me for the wide-range of services that the MWRD provides to protect the water environment for more than 5 million residents across Cook County,” said Commissioner Spyropoulos.

Commissioner Spyropoulos is an attorney who received her JD from UIC Law School and earned an MBA from Loyola University Chicago. Growing up on the south side of Chicago, Mariyana is the proud daughter of immigrants, Ted and Erika Spyropoulos, who taught her the value of hard work. That work ethic is the foundation of her public service. 

21_1026_Spyropoulos WEF Award (1).pdf

Press Release
Awards and Announcements

Established in 1889, the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD) is an award-winning, special purpose government agency responsible for wastewater treatment and stormwater management in Cook County, Illinois.


For more information: