Skip to main content

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Authorized Municipalities and Multi-County Municipalities

Authorized Municipalities

Article 14 of the WMO allows local municipalities to become authorized to administer aspects of the WMO. The below listed municipalities have entered into an Intergovernmental Agreement with the District and are authorized to issue Watershed Management Permits. Submit your permit application directly to the Authorized Municipality. If your permit application submittal contains any of the following items, the Authorized Municipality will forward the permit application to the District for review and approval.

✔ Development activity enumerated in Section 201.2
✔ Development within a combined sewer area
✔ Authorized Municipality’s own projects

The Authorized Municipalities Include:

  • Village of Burr Ridge
  • Village of Chicago Ridge
  • Village of Niles
  • City of Northlake
  • Village of Orland Park
  • Village of Rosemont 
  • Village of South Barrington
  • Village of Westchester
  • Village of Western Springs
  • Village of Wilmette
  • Village of Winnetka

 Become an Authorized Municipality

 Resources for Authorized Municipalities

Multi-County Municipalities

Article 2 of the WMO allows local municipalities whose corporate boundary lies within both Cook County and an adjacent collar county to adopt and enforce the ordinance of the adjacent county in lieu of the WMO. The below listed municipalities have entered into an Intergovernmental Agreement with the District and are following the indicated ordinance. A WMO permit is not required from the District for these municipalities, unless the project includes activities specified in Section 201.2 of the WMO.

The stormwater provisions of one of the following ordinances shall apply to the Cook County portions of each listed municipality, as indicated:

  • DuPage County Countywide Stormwater and Flood Plain Ordinance (DCCSFPO)
  • Kane County Stormwater Management Ordinance (KSCMO)
  • Lake County Watershed Development Ordinance (LCWDO)
  • McHenry County Stormwater Management Ordinance (MHCSMO)
  • Will County Stormwater Management Ordinance (WCSMO)

Multi-County Municipalities:

  • Village of Barrington – LCWDO
  • Village of Barrington Hills – LCWDO
  • Village of Bartlett – DCCSFPO
  • Village of Bensenville – DCCSFPO
  • Village of Deerfield – LCWDO
  • Village of Deer Park – LCWDO
  • City of Elgin – KCSMO
  • Village of East Dundee – KCSMO 
  • Village of Hanover Park – DCCSFPO
  • Village of Hinsdale – DCCSFPO
  • Village of Oak Brook – DCCSFPO
  • Village of Park Forest – WCSMO
  • Village of Roselle – DCCSFPO

 Become a Multi-County Municipality