

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago

Press Release

Allison Fore

Public and Intergovernmental Affairs Officer 312.751.6633 public.affairs@mwrd.org 100 East Erie Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611

For immediate release January 24, 2013

MWRD Board announces new committee assignments

With a new nine member Board of Commissioners and officers in place at the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago (MWRD), the important work of leading the District through standing committee assignments can begin as President Kathleen Meany announced new committee assignments at the last Board meeting on January 17.

Commissioners holding these posts are responsible for studying the associated issues and leading policy direction for the important work of the MWRD.

"The work conducted through committees is important for ensuring that we adhere to our enabling legislation and strategic plan initiatives," said President Kathleen Meany. "Because we take this work seriously, committees meet regularly to evaluate District activities so that we, as agency policy-makers, can make informed decisions."

Affirmative Action

Barbara McGowan, chairman Frank Avila, vice chairman

Budget & Employment

Kari K. Steele, chairman Debra Shore, vice chairman

Engineering

Frank Avila, chairman Debra Shore, vice chairman

Ethics

Kathleen Meany, chairman Mariyana Spyropoulos, vice chairman

Federal Legislation

Michael Alvarez, chairman Kathleen Meany, vice chairman

Finance

Mariyana Spyropoulos, chairman Kathleen Meany, vice chairman

Industrial Waste & Water Pollution

Patrick D. Thompson, chairman Frank Avila, vice chairman

Information Technology

Kari K. Steele, chairman

Patrick D. Thompson, vice chairman

Judiciary

Mariyana Spyropoulos, chairman Patrick D. Thompson, vice chairman

Labor & Industrial Relations

Cynthia Santos, chairman Michael Alvarez, vice chairman

Maintenance & Operations

Frank Avila, chairman Kathleen Meany, vice chairman

Monitoring & Research

Patrick D. Thompson, chairman Kari K. Steele, vice chairman

Municipalities

Debra Shore, chairman Cynthia Santos, vice chairman

Pension, Human Resources & Civil Service

Kathleen Meany, chairman, Barbara McGowan, vice chairman

Public Health & Welfare

Frank Avila, chairman

Mariyana Spyropoulos, vice chairman

Public Information & Education

Debra Shore, chairman

Barbara McGowan, vice chairman

Procurement

Barbara McGowan, chairman Cynthia Santos, vice chairman

Real Estate Development

Mariyana Spyropoulos, chairman Cynthia Santos, vice chairman

State Legislation & Rules

Cynthia Santos, chairman Michael Alvarez, vice chairman

Stormwater Management

Michael Alvarez, chairman Kari K. Steele, vice chairman

Additional information about the MWRD can be found at www.mwrd.org.