African American Heritage logo


Please follow us on social media for daily updates celebrating African American history. 
Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTubeLinkedIn
 

Events

Date Speaker Event Videos
Monday, February 1 Vice President Barbara McGowan and President Kari K. Steele lead the Board of Commissioners in raising the African American Flag

Presentation

2020 Flag Raising Ceremony

2021 Flag Raising Ceremony

Tuesday, February 2 Brian Perkovich, Executive Director, presents Mayor Harold Washington

Presentation

Video
Wednesday, February 3 Meisha Searcy, Administrative Specialist, presents Historically Black Colleges and Universities and Jewish Scholars Presentation Video
Thursday, February 4 Cedric Robertson, Managing Engineer, presents Garrett Morgan Presentation Video
Friday, February 5 Commissioner Cam Davis presents the Town of Allensworth Presentation Video
Monday, February 8 Chairman of Finance Marcelino Garcia presents Dr. Daniel Hale Williams Presentation Video
Tuesday, February 9 Dr. Elizabeth Lockhart presents the Arthur Lockhart Resource Institute Presentation Video
Wednesday, February 10 Dawn Walker, Administrative Assistant to Commissioner Davis, presents Gladys West Presentation Video
Thursday, February 11 Commissioner Kimberly DuBuclet presents Alice Parker Presentation Video
Tuesday, February 16 Commissioner Josina Morita presents Bessie Coleman Presentation Video
Wednesday, February 17 Officer Paul Collins presents Robert Smalls Presentation Video
Thursday, February 18 Regina Berry, Diversity Administrator, presents the Montgomery Bus Boycott Presentation Video
Friday, February, 19 Commissioner Eira Corral Sepúlveda presents Dr. Charles Drew Presentation Video
Monday, February 22 Commissioner Debra Shore presents Onesimus Presentation Video
Tuesday, February 23 Harriet Tubman’s Underground Railroad Presentation 2020 Video
Wednesday, February 24 Commissioner Mariyana Spyropoulos presents Shirley Chisholm Presentation Video
Thursday, February 25 Vice President Barbara McGowan presents the 6888th Battalion Presentation Video
Friday, February 26 President Kari K. Steele  presents Dr. William Davis Presentation Video


Schedule of Events